Pilot: The Next Episode

This is the beginning of a new time in my life.  The title of this post, besides being a homage to Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre, represents a new chapter in this story.  As I prepare to set off for my year of clinical rotations, I realize that I want to remember all the places I go and experiences I have during this time.  If nothing else, I know my mom will be entertained.

For those of you I do not know, my name is Dane Fickes and I am a P4 (senior) student at St. Louis College of Pharmacy.  For more information, check out the About Me page.  Here are some quick facts:

-Grew up in the small town of Rogue River, Oregon
-Spent the last 5 years going to school in St. Louis
-Always have been involved in organizational leadership on campus
-Favorite class of pharmacy school was pharmacology
-Aspiring pharmapreneur, a person who innovates and develops ideas into reality in pharmacy

While I learned a lot in pharmacy school (and will talk more about that in a later post), I am most excited for my rotations this next year.  For those of you who have not been entrenched in pharmacy jargon for the last 5 years, all pharmacy students, after they are done with all of their classes, go out and practice for a year before they graduate.  This is done through a series of 5 week rotations in various branches of pharmacy.

The purpose of this blog is to simply describe what it is like to be a student pharmacist on these rotations, my ideas about current pharmacy topics, and stories about interesting situations that I come across during this year.

Let’s start with this.  I like maps, ALOT.  If pharmacy doesn’t work out, my back up plan is definitely cartography. Job prospects for that are still great, right?  Anyways, I made a map to depict my journey through this next year.  Each number indicates a 5 week rotation, with associated type and location.

Rotation Schedule (Module 1)
Rotation Schedule (Module 1)

GOALS FOR THE YEAR

Along with exploring and traveling, I do have certain goals I want to accomplish during this year.  Let’s break these down into a list, because everyone loves lists:

1.  Graduate – always a key to success

2.  Improve clinical pharmacy skills – this will be important regardless of what I do, so I want to ensure I am knowledgeable about the center of my profession: DRUGS

3.  Meet new people and reconnect with old friends – after being in St. Louis for 5 years, I am excited to meet people in different parts of the world, and catch up with people I have not seen in half a decade

4.  Get 15,000 steps a day – American Heart Association recommends 10,000 a day, so why not 15,000?

5.  Perfect my Spanish – I have wanted to be fluent in Spanish for as long as I can remember.  This will be a chance to finally gain proficiency in medical Spanish

Finally, if you are still reading this post, I want to congratulate you for your attention span.  In order to make this interactive, I have added a poll below so quickly fill that out (it is completely anonymous).  Be thorough in your response, the answer to this question tells a lot about a person.

I hope this post has briefly introduced you to who I am and what I will be doing for the next year.  Below, I have posted the dates for my rotation schedule.  If any of you have advice or recommendations about these places, please let me know.  I would love to hear it.

Although I am not entirely sure what to expect from this next year, I plan to recollect the good, the bad, and the ugly for you.  Having a positive attitude through life is the key to success.  One of the most important pieces of advice I have received is that when you are stressed out, remember to take things lightly and smile.  So as the Joker once said, “Let’s put a smile on that face.”

Thanks for reading,

Dane Michaelangelo Fickes

2017-2018 academic year:

May 15th – Jun 16th: Acute Care – General Medicine
Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Jun 19th – Jul 21st: Patient Care Selective – Critical Care
Seattle, Washington

Jul 24th – Aug 25th: Ambulatory Care – Outpatient Clinic
Medford, Oregon

Sep 5th – Oct 6th: Independent Pharmacy – Compounding
Los Angeles, California

Oct 9th – Nov 10th: Community Care – Retail
Eagle Point, Oregon

Nov 13th – Dec 15th: Health Systems Management – Hospital
Medford, Oregon

Jan 8th – Feb 10th: Off Module – South America trip
Colombia a Argentina, América del Sur

Feb 12th – Mar 16th: International Pharmacy Experience
Monterrey, Nuevo León, México

Mar 26th – Apr 27th: Independent Pharmacy – Community
Grants Pass, Oregon

4 thoughts on “Pilot: The Next Episode

  1. I am glad u r embarking in this final year of adventure where u get out and put all those theories u learned in class to work. I would say 90% of what I do, is learned outside the classroom. Enjoy everyday and treat everyone with respect and keep us informed on ur travels n experiences!!

    Like

    1. So many wonderful memories and feelings you will have written down to read
      again someday. So glad you are doing this! And yes, I am entertained! Especially about the mention of your love of maps. I don’t know what to believe now 😉 Great goals, by the way, sweet and simple. I do have to agree with the positive attitude key; I have personally seen the difference in contentment throughout life in others and in my own life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

